Home » Africa map » Guinea-Bissau map »

Flag of Guinea-Bissau Republic of Guinea-Bissau Google maps and facts

Welcome to Google maps of Guinea-Bissau (GW) and locations list of this country. World and City Maps and its detailed Guinea-Bissau page is the place where Google maps Sightseeing make sense! With comprehensive destination gazetteer, Route Planner to Guinea-Bissau, World and City enables you to explore Guinea-Bissau through detailed Satellite Imagery and Street View - fast, free and easy as never before. Browse the list of administrative regions below of Guinea-Bissau, follow the navigation through administrative regions to find place you are interested in and Book your hotel with Best Price Guarantee! Your Guinea-Bissau Google Satellite Map Sightseeing and Street View starts here!

To activate Street View on any city of Guinea-Bissau, drag above the Zoom feature the yellow little man in the map.

Facts about Guinea-Bissau

Administrative divisions: 9 regions (regioes , singular - regiao); Bafata , Biombo , Bissau , Bolama , Cacheu , Gabu , Oio , Quinara , Tombali; note - Bolama may have been renamed Bolama/Bijagos
Area: total: 36 ,120 sq km land: 28 ,000 sq km water: 8 ,120 sq km
Background: Since independence from Portugal in 1974 , Guinea-Bissau has experienced considerable political and military upheaval. In 1980 , a military coup established authoritarian dictator Joao Bernardo 'Nino' VIEIRA as president. Despite setting a path to a market economy and multiparty system , VIEIRA's regime was characterized by the suppression of political opposition and the purging of political rivals. Several coup attempts through the 1980s and early 1990s failed to unseat him. In 1994 VIEIRA was elected president in the country's first free elections. A military mutiny and resulting civil war in 1998 eventually led to VIEIRA's ouster in May 1999. In February 2000 , a transitional government turned over power to opposition leader Kumba YALA , after he was elected president in transparent polling. In September 2003 , after only three years in office , YALA was ousted by the military in a bloodless coup , and businessman Henrique ROSA was sworn in as interim president. In 2005 , former President VIEIRA was re-elected president pledging to pursue economic development and national reconciliation.
Flag description: two equal horizontal bands of yellow (top) and green with a vertical red band on the hoist side; there is a black five-pointed star centered in the red band; uses the popular pan-African colors of Ethiopia
Capital: name: Bissau geographic coordinates: 11 51 N , 15 35 W time difference: UTC 0 (5 hours ahead of Washington , DC during Standard Time)
Climate: tropical; generally hot and humid; monsoonal-type rainy season (June to November) with southwesterly winds; dry season (December to May) with northeasterly harmattan winds
Currency code: Communaute Financiere Africaine franc (XOF); note - responsible authority is the Central Bank of the West African States
Ethnic groups: African 99% (includes Balanta 30% , Fula 20% , Manjaca 14% , Mandinga 13% , Papel 7%) , European and mulatto less than 1%
Geographic coordinates: 12 00 N , 15 00 W
Geography note: this small country is swampy along its western coast and low-lying inland
Government type: republic
Imports partners: Portugal 21.5% , Senegal 16.8% , France 6% , Pakistan 4.7% (2007)
Internet country code: .gw
Land boundaries: 350 km
Neighbouring countries: total: 724 km border countries: Guinea 386 km , Senegal 338 km
Languages: Portuguese (official) , Crioulo , African languages
Location: Western Africa , bordering the North Atlantic Ocean , between Guinea and Senegal
Map references: Africa
National holiday: Independence Day , 24 September (1973)
Nationality: noun: Guinean(s) adjective: Guinean
Natural hazards: hot , dry , dusty harmattan haze may reduce visibility during dry season; brush fires
Population: 1 ,503 ,182 (July 2008 est.)
Religions: Muslim 50% , indigenous beliefs 40% , Christian 10%
Terrain: mostly low coastal plain rising to savanna in east
Unemployment rate: NA%

Capital of Republic of Guinea-Bissau

Bissau (click to view Bissau map)

Places in Guinea-Bissau

Browse the most comprehensive and up-to-date online directory of administrative regions and Street views in Guinea-Bissau. Regions are sorted in alphabetical order from level 1 to level 2 and eventually up to level 3 regions.

Áfià city map
Aldeia city map
Aliu Jai city map
Amedalai city map
Bafata Region (770 google map locations)
Bembelo city map
Biombo Region (119 google map locations)
Bissâmal city map
Bissau Autonomous Sector (62 google map locations)
Bolama Region (164 google map locations)
Bricama city map
Cacheu Region (612 google map locations)
Cambaju city map
Cambéssè city map
Cancubanhe Sinchã city map
Candembuia city map
Canfate city map
Canhaga city map
Canjara city map
Canxelebel city map
Carantabá city map
Catabá city map
Changael Singálà city map
Dando city map
Daro Nhaco city map
Darsalame city map
Demba city map
Demba Danejo city map
Demosor city map
Duà city map
Embalocunda city map
Faquina Fula city map
Faquina Mandinga city map
Gabu Region (755 google map locations)
Galomaro city map
Ganhala city map
Gêba city map
Ginane city map
Jabadá city map
Jaljalto city map
Jambur city map
Junqueira city map
Madina city map
Madina Mansali city map
Mamaconom city map
Mamboncò city map
Mampatá city map
Mato Grande city map
Micheche city map
Oio Region (620 google map locations)
Pate Baliel city map
Ponta Manuel Vieira city map
Ponta Nhamudefè city map
Queber city map
Quenhetó city map
Quinara Region (345 google map locations)
Sálià city map
Samba Daba city map
Sambuià city map
Sana Marum city map
Sancalancunda city map
Sare Adè city map
Sare Anambé city map
Sare Ardo city map
Sare Birom city map
Sare Canta city map
Sare Chicamo city map
Sare Chumbo city map
Sare Cobà city map
Sare Cubè city map
Sare Demba Baderal city map
Sare Ganà city map
Sare Gêba city map
Sare Iero city map
Sare Ierobà city map
Sare Ioba city map
Sare Janque city map
Sare Jomel city map
Sare Nhado city map
Sare Pati city map
Sauiã city map
Sinchã Agostinho city map
Sinchã Ali city map
Sinchã Bácar city map
Sinchã Bambè city map
Sinchã Búquel city map
Sinchã Camisa city map
Sinchã Corga city map
Sinchã Délè city map
Sinchã Dulá city map
Sinchã Fajonquito city map
Sinchã Famora city map
Sinchã Guelà city map
Sinchã Iero Leluma city map
Sinchã Mamudo city map
Sinchã Saído city map
Sinchã Samba Sunto city map
Sinchã Sutu city map
Sinchã Uale city map
Soncò city map
Sumbundo city map
Tabató city map
Tambato city map
Tendinto city map
Tombali Region (371 google map locations)
Ualicunda city map
Uassadu city map

Random cities in Guinea-Bissau

Bissau, the capital city of Guinea-Bissau.

This Guinea-Bissau map is for informational use only. No representation is made or warranty given as to its content. User assumes all risk of using Google maps and Google Route Planner. World and City Maps (ex.: I Google Maps) assumes no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use of free Guinea-Bissau map.

Link to Guinea-Bissau Google Map page

This map of Guinea-Bissau has been viewed 10341 times until now. In case you would like, there is a very easy way how to link to our Guinea-Bissau map - including free Google maps, gazetteer search, country, city maps, Street View and facts -, ready to use on your website. Please, simply copy & paste the provided HTML code into your page source code. Thank you for all links to World and City Maps .com!

Text link to: Guinea-Bissau map