Home » Oceania map » Kiribati map »

Flag of Kiribati Republic of Kiribati Google maps and facts

Welcome to Google maps of Kiribati (KI) and locations list of this country. World and City Maps and its detailed Kiribati page is the place where Google maps Sightseeing make sense! With comprehensive destination gazetteer, Route Planner to Kiribati, World and City enables you to explore Kiribati through detailed Satellite Imagery and Street View - fast, free and easy as never before. Browse the list of administrative regions below of Kiribati, follow the navigation through administrative regions to find place you are interested in and Book your hotel with Best Price Guarantee! Your Kiribati Google Satellite Map Sightseeing and Street View starts here!

To activate Street View on any city of Kiribati, drag above the Zoom feature the yellow little man in the map.

Facts about Kiribati

Administrative divisions: 3 units; Gilbert Islands , Line Islands , Phoenix Islands; note - in addition , there are 6 districts (Banaba , Central Gilberts , Line Islands , Northern Gilberts , Southern Gilberts , Tarawa) and 21 island councils - one for each of the inhabited islands (Abaiang , Abemama , Aranuka , Arorae , Banaba , Beru , Butaritari , Kanton , Kiritimati , Kuria , Maiana , Makin , Marakei , Nikunau , Nonouti , Onotoa , Tabiteuea , Tabuaeran , Tamana , Tarawa , Teraina)
Area: total: 811 sq km land: 811 sq km water: 0 sq km note: includes three island groups - Gilbert Islands , Line Islands , Phoenix Islands
Background: The Gilbert Islands became a British protectorate in 1892 and a colony in 1915; they were captured by the Japanese in the Pacific War in 1941. The islands of Makin and Tarawa were the sites of major US amphibious victories over entrenched Japanese garrisons in 1943. The Gilbert Islands were granted self-rule by the UK in 1971 and complete independence in 1979 under the new name of Kiribati. The US relinquished all claims to the sparsely inhabited Phoenix and Line Island groups in a 1979 treaty of friendship with Kiribati.
Flag description: the upper half is red with a yellow frigate bird flying over a yellow rising sun , and the lower half is blue with three horizontal wavy white stripes to represent the ocean
Capital: name: Tarawa geographic coordinates: 1 19 N , 172 58 E time difference: UTC+12 (17 hours ahead of Washington , DC during Standard Time)
Climate: tropical; marine , hot and humid , moderated by trade winds
Currency code: Australian dollar (AUD)
Ethnic groups: Micronesian 98.8% , other 1.2% (2000 census)
Geographic coordinates: 1 25 N , 173 00 E
Geography note: 21 of the 33 islands are inhabited; Banaba (Ocean Island) in Kiribati is one of the three great phosphate rock islands in the Pacific Ocean - the others are Makatea in French Polynesia , and Nauru
Government type: republic
Imports partners: Australia 33% , Fiji 27.1% , Japan 18.1% , NZ 6.9% (2006)
Internet country code: .ki
Land boundaries: 1 ,143 km
Neighbouring countries: 0 km
Languages: I-Kiribati , English (official)
Location: Oceania , group of 33 coral atolls in the Pacific Ocean , straddling the Equator; the capital Tarawa is about half way between Hawaii and Australia; note - on 1 January 1995 , Kiribati proclaimed that all of its territory lies in the same time zone as its Gilbert Islands group (UTC +12) even though the Phoenix Islands and the Line Islands under its jurisdiction lie on the other side of the International Date Line
Map references: Oceania
National holiday: Independence Day , 12 July (1979)
Nationality: noun: I-Kiribati (singular and plural) adjective: I-Kiribati
Natural hazards: typhoons can occur any time , but usually November to March; occasional tornadoes; low level of some of the islands make them sensitive to changes in sea level
Population: 110 ,356 (July 2008 est.)
Religions: Roman Catholic 52% , Protestant (Congregational) 40% , other (includes Seventh-Day Adventist , Muslim , Baha'i , Latter-day Saints , Church of God) 8% (1999)
Terrain: mostly low-lying coral atolls surrounded by extensive reefs
Unemployment rate: 2% official rate; underemployment 70% (1992 est.)

Capital of Republic of Kiribati

Bairiki (click to view Bairiki map)

Places in Kiribati

Browse the most comprehensive and up-to-date online directory of administrative regions and Street views in Kiribati. Regions are sorted in alphabetical order from level 1 to level 2 and eventually up to level 3 regions.

Abaokoro city map
Abatao city map
Antai city map
Aoniman city map
Aonobuaka city map
Arariki city map
Aubeangai city map
Autokia city map
Autukia city map
Bairiki city map
Banraeaba city map
Baretoa city map
Betio city map
Bikenibeu city map
Binoinano city map
Borotiam city map
Buariki city map
Buota city map
Butaritari city map
Eita city map
Ijaki city map
Kabangaki city map
Kairaoa city map
Kariatebike city map
Kariri city map
Kawantetua city map
Keuea city map
Koinawa city map
Kukutin city map
Kuma city map
Kuria city map
London city map
Makauro city map
Manoku city map
Manounou city map
Manriki city map
Marenanuka city map
Morikao city map
Muribenua city map
Nabari city map
Nabeina city map
Naimoa city map
Nanibaba city map
Nansaba city map
Nikumanu city map
Nikutoru city map
Noriti city map
Noto city map
Nuatabu city map
Nuka city map
Nuribenua city map
Ooma city map
Puakonikai city map
Rakentai city map
Rawannawi city map
Riaria city map
Ritiati city map
Rongorongo city map
Roreauea city map
Roreti city map
Rotuma city map
Rungata city map
Tabiang city map
Tabiauea city map
Tabiteuea city map
Taboiaki city map
Tabomatang city map
Tabontebike city map
Tabonuea city map
Taborio city map
Tabuarorae city map
Tabuiroa city map
Tabukiniberu city map
Taburao city map
Tabutoa city map
Takarano city map
Taku city map
Tamaroa city map
Tanaiang city map
Tanekore city map
Tanimaiaki city map
Tanimainiku city map
Tarakarawa city map
Taratai city map
Tarawa city map
Taribo city map
Te Kapuipui city map
Teaoraereke city map
Tearinibai city map
Tebanga city map
Tebatabuki city map
Tebikerei city map
Tebikeriki city map
Tebobonga city map
Tebunginako city map
Tekarakan city map
Tekatirirake city map
Tekuanga city map
Temaraia city map
Tenanoraoi city map
Teobokia city map
Terikiai city map
Tetabakea city map
Tetabuki city map
Tetake city map
Teteirio city map
Tewai city map
Tuarabu city map
Ubanteman city map
Ukiangang city map
Umantewena city map
Umauma city map
Utiroa city map

Random cities in Kiribati

Bairiki, the capital city of Kiribati.

This Kiribati map is for informational use only. No representation is made or warranty given as to its content. User assumes all risk of using Google maps and Google Route Planner. World and City Maps (ex.: I Google Maps) assumes no responsibility for any loss or delay resulting from such use of free Kiribati map.

Link to Kiribati Google Map page

This map of Kiribati has been viewed 12968 times until now. In case you would like, there is a very easy way how to link to our Kiribati map - including free Google maps, gazetteer search, country, city maps, Street View and facts -, ready to use on your website. Please, simply copy & paste the provided HTML code into your page source code. Thank you for all links to World and City Maps .com!

Text link to: Kiribati map